WORX WG749E Review – Self Propelled Brushless Cordless 46cm Lawn Mower

Lawn Mower Search Tool

Lawn Mower Search Tool

Worx WG749E

9.5

Performance/Cut Quality

9.6/10

Features

9.4/10

Durability

9.4/10

Value

9.6/10

Warranty/Support

9.4/10

Pros

  • Ideal for larger lawns up to 500m²
  • Self-propelled drive
  • Variable speed
  • Mulching and cut and collect
  • Excellent choice of cutting heights

Cons

  • No side or rear discharge cutting options
  • No rear roller for striped lawn appearance
  • No grass bag indicator to know when the grass bag needs emptying

Summary

WORX WG749E Review

The WORX WG749E is a self-propelled cordless lawn mower that is supplied with 2 x 4.0Ah batteries and charger that produces enough run-time to cut lawns up to 500m² . It has a 55 litre grass collection box, 46cm cutting width and has an excellent range of 7 cutting heights from 20mm to 80mm.

Having tested and reviewed WORX lawn mowers over the years, I was over the moon, to say the least, to hear that they were launching their first cordless self-propelled model in June 2021. What’s more, this WORX WG749E cordless mower is not only self-propelled, but also offers variable speed. If you’ve never used a WORX tool before, then let me be the first to tell you that the quality and performance come highly recommended; not just by me but by millions of people around the world.

I personally use the smaller WORX WG779E.2 and would not have recommended any WORX mower for larger lawns, but with this WORX WG749E that could be about to change.

With the WG749E, you are getting an enormous amount of power in a surprisingly lightweight body and a very decent 46cm cutting width. Self-propelled cordless models are typically a little weightier, but this one handles beautifully. Moreover, it delivers an immaculate cut right up to the edge of the lawn.

For fans of the WORX range, you’ll be pleased to know that you’ll receive two 4.0Ah 18v batteries with this model that can be power shared, and a very convenient charging system. There is the option to mulch or cut and collect as well as 7, yes 7, cutting heights making this a rather diverse machine.

Surely there must be some downsides to this mower? Well, let us dive into my WORX WG749E review and find out if that’s the case!

Main Features

  • 46cm cutting width
  • Self-propelled with variable speed
  • Ideal for larger lawns up to 500m²
  • Power shareable batteries
  • Brushless motor
  • 7 cutting heights – 20mm to 80mm
  • Mulching plug included
  • Safety key provided
  • Larger rear wheels for stability
  • Folding, lightweight handle
  • Up to 3 years warranty

Power System And Battery

WORX WG749E Power System And Battery

One of the things that I really like about the WORX range is that the power sharing options are limitless. Provided you are using a compatible 18v, or max 20v tool, the 2 x 4.0Ah batteries that come with this mower can be used across the range. And of course, any batteries you already own can be used in the mower. That’s convenience if ever I saw it.

Furthermore, the WG749E is fitted with a high quality brushless motor which produces less friction and therefore has a longer life without compromising on power. You’ll also notice that you get a much smoother ride out of this and with the variable self-propelled speeds, you get to decide how you use the mower.

A downside to cordless tools is that you have to be prepared for the power to run out. While the WORX WG749E certainly can’t deliver a limitless battery, it does come with a handy 5-light system to show you the current charge level of both batteries. This can be seen while you are mowing so you will never be caught out with the nasty surprise of a dead battery.

This mower is supplied with a dual charger (model WORX WA3883) and the two 4.0 Ah batteries will fully charge in approx. 2 hours.

Remember this WORX WG749E will deliver enough runtime to cover a lawn up to 500m², this is roughly the size of two tennis courts – impressive!

WORX WG749E Video

Performance

If you want a mower that is going to deliver efficiency then this is likely a tool you will get on with. Not only does it cut close to the edge of the lawn, meaning that you won’t need to do as much trimming afterwards, but it also features an intelligent cutting system.

Auto Intellicut technology means that this smart mower will detect the mowing conditions and adjust the power accordingly. This means that you will always get an optimum performance as well as saving on battery life. After all, why use power when you don’t need to.

Check Today's Price

 

Deck and Blade

WORX WG749E Cutting Diameter

The WORX WG749E comes with a 46cm cutting deck, which is ideal if you have a larger garden. Covering more ground with each pass, this lawn mower will make light work of lawns measuring up to 500m².

The poly deck is also incredibly durable so you can feel confident that it will perform over time and won’t crack under the pressure of an impact.

It is worth noting here that there is no side or rear discharge option with this deck. If you are looking for a cordless, self-propelled mower that does have both rear and side discharge, as well as mulching, then you may want to consider the Mountfield Empress 46 Li that has the same size deck.

Handles

While you might focus most of your attention on the cutting abilities of any given mower, the handles can go unnoticed when in reality, there should be more attention placed on them. With good handle design, you will benefit from a much more comfortable and enjoyable mowing experience. Now, I hear what you’re saying ‘Mark, when is mowing ever enjoyable; it’s a chore?’ But bear with me.

WORX WG749E Handles

With the ability to adjust the height of the handle to one of three positions, using the two levers underneath, you will prevent yourself having to hunch or overreach. While this may not be an issue when mowing a smaller lawn, mowing a large lawn, like the ones this mower is designed to handle, may leave you feeling very uncomfortable by the end. In addition to this, the handles are made from thick, sturdy, lightweight aluminium and are covered in thick foam which makes them much more comfortable to use. I would even go as far to say that the handles on the WORX WG749E are comparable to that of the premium, and very costly, EGO range of self-propelled mowers.

Moreover, the handle design on this mower is perfect for easy storage, since it folds flat and can be stored vertically for space saving. If that wasn’t enough, there are two carry handles at the front and rear of the machine which allow you to transport it much more freely.

All the controls are within easy reach, including the speed control, the operator presence control lever and the drive engagement lever. It is so frustrating when the self-propelled lever is so far away from the handle, that you physically have to remove your hand from the bars to reach it every time you want to get going. This is not the case with this WORX model.

Height Adjustment

WORX WG749E Height Adjustment

Having a selection of cutting heights is essential in maintaining your lawn over the seasons. This WORX WG749E has a choice of 7 cutting heights ranging between 20mm and 80mm; I may be biased as a huge WORX fan, but I think that is pretty generous. Having the higher 80mm setting is going to please those looking to move over from petrol to battery.

Switching between cutting heights is quick and simple thanks to the addition of an ingenious single push button central height adjustment lever. I have only seen something similar to this system on the Bosch AdvancedRotak range of mowers. It works very well and there is a handy gauge on the side of the mower to indicate the height setting.

Grass Collection Box

OK, so while I do love this machine, there is a tiny flaw that, if I had my way, I would amend; there is no grass full indicator on the grass bag. This is a cloth bag which is lightweight and easy to empty, but there is a little guesswork involved when you don’t have a full indicator.

The collection bag has a capacity of 55 litres which is just about the right size for this 46cm deck.

Practicalities

WORX WG749E Practicalities

One of the best things about this lawn mower is that it comes with a three year warranty, so you know you are covered for a decent amount of time. But let me be the one to warn you that you won’t be able to make use of this warranty without first registering your product, so make sure you do this. In addition, you get a year’s warranty on the battery, which may not be as generous, but the warranties for parts like this never are.

If you have an uneven lawn or need to mow on slopes, the slightly larger rear wheels will give you that additional grip and stability.

Practical? Yes, this WORX WG749E not only has the option of the self-propelled drive, but also the variable speed option. There are not that many self-propelled variable speed cordless mowers on the UK market, and certainly not at this price range.

Storage space is always at a premium and with a mower of this size could be a problem. But WORX have addressed this by designing the handles to be folded in such a way that it allows the mower to be stored vertically, so very practical indeed.

Check Today's Price

 

Safety Features

Immediately, I noticed that the WORX WG749E comes with a removable safety key that slots into the battery compartment. Without it, the lawn mower will not start which is great if you have prying little hands around the place. Moreover, the operator must push the start button before holding down the triggers, so there is very little chance, that even with the key in place, the mower would be started accidentally.

WORX WG749E User Manual

Click here to access the WORX WG749E user manual.

What’s Included In The Box?

  • 1 x WORX WG749E
  • 2 x 4.0Ah 18v batteries
  • Dual charger
  • Cloth 55L grass collection bag
  • Mulching plug
  • Safety key
  • User manual

Pros and Cons

Pros
  • Ideal for larger lawns up to 500m²
  • Self-propelled cordless drive
  • Variable speed control
  • Mulching and cut & collect mowing options
  • Excellent choice of 7 cutting heights
  • Power share batteries across the range of 18v tools
  • Intellicut for power saving and optimal performance
Cons
  • No side or rear discharge cutting options
  • No rear roller for striped lawn appearance
  • No grass bag indicator to know when the grass bag needs emptying

 

Should You Buy This Model?

WORX WG749E Conclusion

If you like WORX garden tools then I would absolutely tell you to go and buy this lawn mower. Even if you haven’t tried their mowers before, but use some of their other tools, you don’t have much to lose because at worst, you’ll be gaining some additional batteries.

But in essence, this is a lawn mower that would suit someone who wants a tool that will do all the hard work for them. There isn’t any complicated maintenance and the mower pretty much takes care of itself; all you need to do is charge the batteries and get on your way. Heck, you don’t even have to push the thing because it drives itself!

For people with bigger gardens, the WORX WG749E is a great choice as it will make cutting the grass a much more pleasant and straightforward job; who could ask for more?

Just be aware of the few minor limitations outlined above and summarised in the pros and cons section.

Conclusion

I was a little more than excited to review this latest WG749E mower from WORX and I wasn’t disappointed. Being the brand’s very first self-propelled, variable speed cordless mower, I wasn’t sure what to expect, but they have surpassed themselves in terms of power, performance and convenience.

While there are not multiple collection modes, there is more than enough features for the average larger lawn and with an incredibly easy to use design, this is what the mower of the future ought to look like.

Just like the smaller WORX mower models, I can see this WORX WG749E cordless mower becoming a best seller and constantly selling out. So, if you can get your hands on one, I would do so ASAP. They can be pre ordered now or purchased after the release date in late June 2021.

 


Where Should I Purchase This Model?

Amazon have the best prices that are difficult to match and probably the most reliable and speedy delivery system on the web.

Check Today's Price

 

WORX WG749E 36V (40V Max) Self Propelled Brushless Cordless 46cm Lawn...
945 Reviews
WORX WG749E 36V (40V Max) Self Propelled Brushless Cordless 46cm Lawn...
  • Powered by 2pc 20V 4Ah batteries, up to 500sq.m. on a charge
  • Brushless motor deliver more power and longer run time
  • Self propelled with variable speed adjustment
  • Auto Intellicut technology automatically adjusts motor performance to maximum the cutting power or run time according to grass condition
  • 2 in 1: bagging and mulching,
  • Quick adjustable handle height provides comfort operation for different people

Last update on 2021-09-16 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

 

 


 

Not sure about this mower? Click here to see more Cordless Lawn Mower Reviews.


Additional Specifications
Working Area 500m²
Cutting width 46cm
Cutting height steps 7
Cutting height max 80mm
Cutting height min 20mm
Cutting height adjustment Single Lever
Collector volume 55L
Battery Type 2 x 18V (20V max) 4Ah Li-ion battery
Typical Charging Time 120 minutes
Typical Mowing Time 45 minutes (500 m²)
Vision Window No
Right or left start switch Left & Right
Foldable handles Yes
Battery power indicator Yes
Grass bag filling indicator No
Roller No
Weight  30 kg

Please Share!

6 thoughts on “WORX WG749E Review – Self Propelled Brushless Cordless 46cm Lawn Mower

  1. RE: The WORX WG749E
    Hi Mark, I see from the messages above the it was withdrawn from pre order but would you happen remember what the price was?

    many thanks

    B. Rgds

    Jayson

  2. Do hope so! I have contacted Worx UK who were pretty useless at updating me when they might be available even though they are being advertised by Worx International on YouTube. Who recommended I contact the UK department. They had no idea if or when it might be available. Also issues with Amazon who now say they don’t deliver to Northern Ireland! Nightmare! Hope Worx UK eventually put it on their ebay page where I have bought all my other Worx devices this year. I wait patiently in hope…

    1. Hi Nigel, thanks for the update, I will also keep an eye on it and send an email to my contact at WORX to see if I can get any more information.
      Thanks Mark

    1. Hi Roy, yes I can see that it has been removed from Amazon pre-order, but will hopefully be back when it is released at the end of June.
      Mark

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *