Flymo 1200R Review – Lithium-Ion Robotic Lawnmower

Flymo 1200R

9.4

Performance/Cut Quality

9.4/10

Features

9.2/10

Durability

9.4/10

Value

9.6/10

Warranty/Support

9.6/10

Pros

  • Working area up to 400m² with good charge/run time
  • Area Capacity 30m²/hr
  • Alarm, Lift sensor and PIN code
  • Highly sensitive collision sensors
  • Cutting heights from 20mm to 50mm

Cons

  • Maximum incline withing the working area is 25% / 14°
  • Doesn't cut right to the edge 

Flymo 1200R Review – Lithium-Ion Robotic Lawnmower

Summary

Flymo 1200R Review - Lithium-Ion Robotic Lawnmower

The Flymo 1200R Lithium-Ion Robotic Lawn Mower is designed for smaller gardens reaching up to 400m² in size. It has a cutting width of 17cm with a good range of cutting heights from 20mm to 50mm. This robotic mower has the latest Lithium-Ion Battery that charges automatically when the mower returns to its charging station. Equipped with a lift sensor, PIN code and alarm provides this mower with a wide range of safety features, from a trusted and reliable manufacturer.

Even though it might be priced a little bit lower than any other model, it still has all the necessary features to keep your garden in great shape.

In this review I’ll be running through all of its features, functions and capabilities to see how well it compares to its competition. This will clearly show you if it’s a good mower and a worthwhile investment for you and your garden.

Main Features:

  • Rating: 9.4/10
  • Suited to those with a lawn size of up to 400m²
  • Independent mowing
  • Alarm and PIN code system
  • Mulches grass for you

Watch the video below for an introduction to the 1200R and some of its features:

Check Price Now


Model Comparison
MowersFlymo 1200RHusqvarna 105
Lawn Coverage400m²600m²
Noise Level58 dB58 dB
Mowing Time60 minutes70 minutes
Charging Time75 minutes50 minutes
Dimensions58x46x25.5 cm55x39x25cm
Weight7.4 kg11.1 kg
Mobile AppNoNo
RatingBest ValueBest Performance
Rating9.4/109.5/10

Power System

Flymo 1200R Review - Lithium-Ion Robotic Lawnmower

The Flymo 1200R has been fitted with an 18V 1.6Ah Lithium-ion Battery and electric motor, which require 75 minutes to fully recharge and can produce 60 minutes of mowing.

As this power system is electrical, no emissions are produced and the mower is extremely quiet.

The complete opposite of the petrol mower, that’ll make your ears bleed, and be for sure unfriendly to the environment.


Slopes

The 1200R has been designed to work effectively on slopped gardens – reaching 14° in height.

However even with this, it could still have a tough time, and occasionally get to the point where it will get stuck on inclines.

This does depend on the size and shape of your lawn but if it does get into any bother, you can easily pick it up and place it back in the charging station – it only weights 7.4kg.

On flat areas there are no issues whatsoever.

Flymo 1200 R Lithium-Ion Robotic Lawn Mower Up to 400 sq m, 18 V
641 Reviews
Flymo 1200 R Lithium-Ion Robotic Lawn Mower Up to 400 sq m, 18 V
  • 18 v 1.6 Ah Lithium-ion Battery. Maximum incline within the working area: 14 °, Cutting width: 17 cm, Cutting height max: 50 mm, Cutting height: min: 20 mm.
  • Working area 400 m2 +/- 20%
  • Area Capacity 30 m2/hr
  • Navigation system - irregular
  • Charging system - automatic
  • Highly sensitive collision sensors and a boundary wire helps the 1200 R avoid any obstacles.

Last update on 2020-10-21 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API


Mowing Pattern

This mower has a very unique mowing pattern. It cuts your grass randomly which means it doesn’t leave tyre marks on your grass – unlike the conventional mowers.

Using the loop wire and some built-in sensors for guidance, the 1200R can map out your entire lawn.

To use as little energy as possible and to ensure every centimetre of grass is cut, the mower calculates the perfect route to use in your garden. Keeping costs low but at the same time making your garden look great.

If anything small left on your lawn that shouldn’t be there, like twigs, stones etc, the mower will try to cut it. You don’t want to damage the blades of the mower, so try to keep the lawn as clean as possible.

If the item left on your lawn is larger, the mower will detect this with the collision sensors and stop and recalculate its route.


Safety Features

This bot has multiple features which keep you and your family safe during a cut.

Lift & Tilt Sensors

When the 1200R is lifted up or tilted at too high angle, it will automatically switch off its blade. Keeping you safe from any nasty accidents or injuries.

But if you want to be a little more cautious, you can manually turn them off by pressing the big red STOP button on top of the mower. It’s really up to you which one you choose.

To turn it on again, you can either place it in the charging station or put in the PIN code using the control panel.

PIN & Alarm System

Flymo 1200R Review - Lithium-Ion Robotic Lawnmower

This prevents anyone from using the mower that you don’t want to, like your kids. If at any point anyone tries to use, or even steal, it the alarm will sound, alerting you of the situation.

You will have to key the PIN code every time you want to reprogram its settings which can be a little annoying. But it prevents any damage to the mower and anyone from stealing it, so I think it’s a fair trade.

Bump Sensors

This prevents the mower from causing any damage to the things in your garden.

It if does bump into something, the mower will stop in its tracks and move back a couple of steps, recalculate a new route and continue mowing in a different direction.

This can work for anything like trees, flower beds and even the perimeter wire.

Check Price Now


Blade Features

Cutting Height

Flymo 1200R Review - Lithium-Ion Robotic Lawnmower

Like all automowers, the 1200R lets you setup the height at which it cuts the grass.

All you have to do is turn a knob on top of the bot to choose any height from 20mm to 50mm. This is probably most useful during season changes but if you just want a shorter cut, then by all means go ahead.

I would recommend, however, that you start with a longer setting and gradually work your way down over time.

This makes it easier to get grass cut at equal lengths and gives the mower a chance to mulch your lawn (see below). Otherwise you could be left with some brown spots which I know you won’t like.

Mulching

By cutting the grass so finely, the clippings can drop down all the way to the soil. They’ll decompose here to act as a mulch (or fertiliser), passing on nutrients and maintaining moisture in the ground.

This promotes much healthier grass growth meaning there’s no need for you to use any nasty and expensive chemicals that are child and pet unfriendly.

Although there is something you need to do first.

Before letting the 1200R do its thing, after the initial installation if the grass is too long, you will need to go out yourself and cut the grass with another mower. This is done once only!

This robomower can’t handle long grass and you won’t give it a chance to mulch your lawn if it’s overgrown.

To learn more about the benefits of mulching, see my article The Benefits of Mulching Grass.


What’s in the Box

Robotic Mower
Charger Station
150m Boundary Wire
Boundary Wire Pegs (200)
Installation Manual
Quick Start Manual
Product Registration Card


Downsides

  1. Sometimes it loses signal of the wire even when there is nothing wrong with it. When this happens, on the display you will see ‘no signal loop’. To solve, all you do is place it back to its charging station and disconnect it from the power source.
  2. Before you even get the mower on its first run, you need to make sure the grass has been cut or is at a reasonable length. This is standard with most robotic mowers at this price point.
  3. This mower doesn’t do large slopes too well. So if your garden is unusually shaped with slopes, then you might want to consider another model.
  4. The Flymo 1200R can’t cut right up to the edge beside the house, fence or steps, leaving you to get the trimmer out and do it yourself, having said that, this is common with other robotic mowers too.

Conclusion

Flymo 1200R Review - Lithium-Ion Robotic Lawnmower

All in all this mower is still a great product. Yeah it may have a few minor issues, but the fact still remains, it does a good job of mowing the lawn.

And considering the price that you can get these for, I’d say they are very good value for money. There aren’t any competitors on the market that are as cheap as this, and that still deliver such great performance – exactly what you paid for.

This is a popular robotic mower rated very highly by customers. This model is a middle sized Flymo Robotic Mower, meaning that Flymo also produce a larger model in its new EasiLife range (designed for gardens up to 500m²) and two smaller brothers (designed for gardens up to 200m² and 350m²). In my opinion, this popular mower hits the perfect sweet spot.

In summary, the benefits are:- its power and cutting system are very effective and efficient with great results, it has all the safety features you could ask for and it still lets you put your feet up instead of mowing the lawn yourself. Ah and don’t forget to mention the great value for money designed by a reputable manufacturer.


Pros

  • Working area up to 400m² with good charge and run time
  • Good safety features – Alarm, Lift sensor and PIN code
  • Highly sensitive collision sensors
  • Wide range of cutting heights from 20mm to 50mm
  • Good customer feedback
  • Good value for money

Cons

  • Doesn’t cut right to the edge
  • Maximum incline withing the working area is 25% / 14°

Should You Purchase This Mower?

Now of course the above is just my opinion, if you are still interested in purchasing this model, then you should consider a few additional things.

Below I’ve outlined a few factors that will help you understand whether or not you’ll make full use of its features and if it’s suitable to your garden.

  • Your garden is relatively flat with slopes no bigger than 14° or sharp turns/tight angles
  • Your garden is under 400m²
  • You don’t mind trimming every now and then (common with most robotic mowers)
  • You are looking for good charge/mow ratio and the new battery technology
  • You want good quality 3 rotary blades (less sharpening)

So if after running through those categories you feel that the Flymo 1200R will fit all your needs, then make sure you click on the button below that will take you to Amazon.

Out of all retailers they are most likely to give you the best deal and the most reliable delivery service.

Also, if you have any questions then please leave them in the comment box at the end of this review. All I want to do is help you as much as I can, so if you need any help then please just ask!


Where can I purchase this model?

The Flymo 1200R can be purchased from the following suppliers in the UK.

Check Price Now

 

Flymo 1200 R Lithium-Ion Robotic Lawn Mower Up to 400 sq m, 18 V
641 Reviews
Flymo 1200 R Lithium-Ion Robotic Lawn Mower Up to 400 sq m, 18 V
  • 18 v 1.6 Ah Lithium-ion Battery. Maximum incline within the working area: 14 °, Cutting width: 17 cm, Cutting height max: 50 mm, Cutting height: min: 20 mm.
  • Working area 400 m2 +/- 20%
  • Area Capacity 30 m2/hr
  • Navigation system - irregular
  • Charging system - automatic
  • Highly sensitive collision sensors and a boundary wire helps the 1200 R avoid any obstacles.

Last update on 2020-10-21 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API


FAQs

Does the Flymo 1200R mulch the lawn?

Yes, all robotic lawn mowers mulch the lawn and do not collect the grass cuttings.

Do I have to bury the boundary wire for the Flymo 1200R?

No, the boundary wire can sit on top of the soil and is hidden by the grass. It can however be buried slightly under the turf.

What is the run time of the Flymo 1200R?

A full charge will last for around 60 minutes.

Do I need to charge the Flymo 1200R manually?

No, the robotic mower will return back to the charging station automatically to re-charge itself.

Is the Flymo 1200R safe around pets?

Yes, the robotic mower has collision detection sensors and immediately changes direction, so no there is no chance of them being harmed.


 

Additional Specifications
Working Area400m² +/- 20m
Max Incline25%/14°
Keypad15 Buttons
TimerYes
Wheel ThreadsMedium
Battery TypeLithium-Ion
Typical Charging Time75 minutes
Typical Mowing Time60 minutes
Power Consumption20W
Cutting System3 Rotating Blades
Cutting Height (min-max)20mm – 50 mm/0.79 – 1.97 inch
Cutting Width17cm/6.7 inch
Sound Levelmeasured: 56 dB (A) guaranteed: 58 dB (A)
AlarmYes
PIN CodeYes
Installation LockYes
Time LockYes
Lift SensorYes
Tilt SensorYes
Loop Wire150 m / 492.13 ft.
Staples200 pcs
Product Size LxWxH580x460x255 mm / 22.83×18.11×10.04 inch
Weight7.4 kg / 16.31 lbs

12 thoughts on “Flymo 1200R Review – Lithium-Ion Robotic Lawnmower

  1. Hi there, could the low voltage cable for the Flymo 1200r be linked to another to extend the length? I need to get to around 40m to go around the perimeter of the garden. The connections do look like they fit each other from the 10m one I have with the mower but not sure if there are other issues.

    1. Hi Gavin

      I have just spoken with Flymo about this as I was unsure if you could do this or not.

      They have said NO, they do not recommend joining the low voltage cables together (even though they do fit together).

      You would need to purchase a single, longer low voltage cable for this purpose.

      Flymo only sell a 20 metre length for their Flymo 1200R (part number is 5798251-01). If you require a longer cable you would need to purchase an aftermarket one. The link below will take you to an aftermarket low voltage cable for the 1200R with lengths up to 50 metres.

      https://amzn.to/2SMFNB0

      Hope this helps.

      Many thanks
      Mark

  2. Hi. Mark, Can I tuck the robot mower base plate just at the side of my shed with the front exactly in line with front of shed ? ( so as to keep it out of plain sight)

    1. Hi John

      Thanks for your question.

      I think that’ll be ok, though I have not tried this way of setting up. It cannot be back in a corner though. The cables all plug in the back too. Probably worth leaving enough cable to start with so you can adjust if you need to move it around a bit.

      I have just taken delivery of a WORX WR130E S300 as I no longer have the Flymo.

      Please report back how it goes.

      Many thanks
      Mark

  3. I have a small dog that always has access to the garden. I’m split between the Flymo 1200R and the Gardena Sileno City 250.

    Is one better than they other when it comes to safety? Are both of them a bad idea around pets?

    1. Hi Ian

      Sorry for the delay in replying, I have been out of the country for a while.

      Both the Flymo 1200R and the Gardena Sileno City 250 robotic mowers have sensitive collision sensors to ensure that the Robotic Lawnmower will stop and move back a couple of steps, recalculate a new route and continue mowing in a different direction.

      I have a small Maltese (very lazy) dog and never had a problem.

      Thanks
      Mark

  4. I have two lawns, one at the front of the house and one at the back. Do I need to purchase two charging stations? What are my options? Thank you.

    Geoff

    1. Hi Geoff

      Thanks for your comment.

      You will not need two charge stations but will need to carry the mower fully charged to the secondary zone and select the manual mode.

      Here is a video with some graphics to explain this in more detail.

      Hope this helps.

      Thanks
      Mark

  5. I have always dreamed about mowing he lawn in my sleep. I mean really while I sleep the lawn is being mowed. This little number could do the trick! There are so many things in life I would rather do than mow the lawn on a weekend. The flymo 1200r is perfect for my little 350 m lawn. Thanks for the review!
    Marc

    1. Yeah Marc, I you want something to mow the lawn at night then these robots are perfect – especially the Flymo 1200r model for your lawn.

      I’m really happy you enjoyed the review and thanks so much for reading!

      Mark

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *