WORX WR130E S300 Review – Landroid Robotic Mower

WORX WR130E S300

9.6

Performance/Cut Quality

9.6/10

Features

9.6/10

Durability

9.4/10

Value

9.8/10

Warranty/Support

9.6/10

Pros

  • Highly customisable for your specific requirements (5 unique options)
  • Great features including artificial intelligence
  • Latest technology with market leading features
  • Easy to install and set up
  • Great value for money

Cons

  • No ability to cut right to the edge

WORX WR130E S300 Review

WORX WR130E S300 ReviewSummary

The WORX WR130E S300 is a new range of intelligent robot mowers that automatically know what’s best for your lawn every day. It adapts to the size and shape of your lawn and growth rate of your grass, has a range of accessories and customisable features that make the WORX WR130E S300 agile, safe, accurate, quiet and is perfect for smaller gardens up to 300m².

WORX manufacture a wide range of power tools, high-pressure cleaners, garden equipment and lawn mowers. One of their leading products is their range of Landroid Robotic Mowers. As mentioned above, The WORX WR130E S300 is suitable for smaller gardens up to around 300m². Once set up it will cut your lawn neatly and efficiently while you relax or get on with other work. With this mower you can simply forget about having to cut the lawn and it will produce results that will be the envy of your neighbours. It is also highly efficient and effective.

The convenience of an intelligent and intuitive robotic lawn mower will allow you to mow more frequently for a permanently great looking lawn and perfect weed control.

Let’s take a closer look at the details of this wonderful robotic lawn mower.

Main Specifications:

  • Rating: 9.6/10
  • Lawn Coverage: 300m²
  • Deck Size: 18cm
  • Height of cut: 20mm – 50mm
  • Noise Level: 62bB
  • Max Incline: ±27 % (15°)
  • Mowing Time: 60 minutes
  • Charging Time: 240 minutes
  • Voice Service: Amazon Alexa
  • Weight: 8 kg
  • Number of accessories available: 5

WORX WR130E S300 Back

Main Features of the WORX WR130E S300

  • Silent operation
  • Brushless motor
  • Intelligent navigation for speed, ease of movement and efficiency
  • Intuitive operation with Smart Auto Scheduling
  • AIA technology (artificial intelligence) for greater accuracy
  • Automatic over the air or USB software updates
  • Easily adjustable cutting height from 20mm to 50mm
  • Cutting Width 180mm
  • Rain sensor
  • Automatic recharge on a compact charger
  • Multi-zone management
  • Great security with a pin code, lock system, and an alarm
  • WORX PowerShare – the 20V battery is interchangeable with other WORX cordless products
  • Light and compact
  • Good warranty
  • Highly customisable for your specific needs – the 5 optional extras available are:

Optional Extras

  1. ACS or an Anti-Collision System
  2. Voice Control
  3. Radio Link
  4. GPS controlled – Find My Landroid
  5. Off Limits (explained in detail below)

 


Video Review of the WORX WR130E S300

To give you a visual representation of the WORX WR130E S300, see my video review below.


To see the range of new WORX Landroid robotic mowers take a look at the video below.

Check Price Now


WORX WR130E S300 Landroid configureNavigation System

WORX have created robotic lawn mowers that are practically plug and play. Once you have downloaded the app for Android or iPhone for the WORX WR130E S300, simply walk through the lawn area and the machine will work it out from there. It will calculate the size, time needed and best mowing plan according to the shape and size of your garden. All of this is done automatically. It will also automatically adapt depending on the growth of the grass as well as the weather. This saves even more time and hassle and will ensure a perfectly cut healthy lawn at all times.

You do have a boundary wire that needs to be run and pegged in initially. This will also allow you to get an efficient cut. The better and more precisely this is done the better your edges and operation will be.

The AIA technology on the WORX WR130E S300 and on all the new WORX robotic mowers, uses artificial intelligence for greater accuracy and precision. If you have a more complex lawn shape this is a great advantage. It will find its way through narrow gaps and navigate tricky bends and details with ease. It also has a multi-zone programming option for other parts of the garden.

For even trickier gardens you can get the Off Limits feature as an optional extra. This uses a simple and easy to install perimeter wire to create a virtual or digital boundary.


WORX WR130E S300 BatteryPower System

The WORX WR130E S300 comes with a 20V 2.0 Ah Lithium battery. This is a high-performance battery with a good life.

A great feature is that these batteries are interchangeable with other cordless WORX garden tools and power tools. This gives you great convenience and, as many tools can be purchased without the battery for less, will save you money as you build up your collection of WORX equipment.


WORX WR130E S300 ChargingCharging Station

The Landroid has a super compact charging station that they call the stealth charging station. It is really small, so it is not an eyesore in your neat garden. Apart from being compact and sleek, it has a stylish design much like the WR130E S300 itself.

WORX WR130E S300 Deck

As you would expect, charging is automatic. The machine will head to the stealth charging station when it senses it is low on battery and connects via lateral charging contacts. This allows you to position the charging station discreetly, in the best location, and out of the way.


Blade

The WR130E S300 has a three blade design that rotates in both directions for a close neat cut. This operation means that the blades stay sharp for longer as both sides are used. They will need to be sharpened occasionally and eventually replaced, but much less often than a single direction blade design.


WORX WR130E S300 ControlControl Panel & Setup

The process to set up initially is fairly straightforward if you go through the following steps:

  • Find a logical and convenient position for the charging dock that is accessible and near a power outlet
  • Work the perimeter wire along the outside of the lawn and peg as you go (roughly 80cm apart) keeping the wire as close to the ground as possible
  • Download the app and create an account
  • Use the QR code under the battery cover and enter your Wi-Fi password
  • Use the Lawn Size Calculator on the app and walk the outside of your lawn
  • Schedule the operation based on your requirements

From there it will pretty much take care of itself. The software and firmware are kept up to date thanks to the Over the Air Software updates.


Model Comparison

Model Comparison
MowersFlymo 1200RWORX WR130E S300
Lawn Coverage400m²300m²
Noise Level58 dB62 dB
Deck Size17cm18cm
Height of cut20mm – 50mm20mm – 50mm
Incline±25 % (14°)±27 % (15°)
Mowing Time60 minutes60 minutes
Charging Time220 minutes240 minutes
Voice Service:NoneAmazon Alexa
Weight7.4 kg8 kg
Accessory parts availableNone5
Mobile AppNoYes
Rating9.4/109.6/10

 


Check Price Now

 

WORX WR130E S300 Landroid Robotic Mower 300m
91 Reviews
WORX WR130E S300 Landroid Robotic Mower 300m
  • You only pay for the size you need. This model is perfect for smaller gardens up to 300m2.
  • Everything you need comes in the box, the mower has all the cables, wire and pegs you need for your size of lawn.
  • The mower is plug and play. You don’t need to change settings if you don’t want to, it is pre-programmed with a schedule that suits your size of lawn but can be easily adjusted on the machine or via the App on your phone, from anywhere.
  • Agile and smarter due to intelligent AIA technology, the turning pattern means it cuts your lawn 30% faster than other robot mowers, and doesn’t wear the edges of your lawn like others do with their continual reversing.
  • All the cutting height adjustments you need for all grass conditions from 20-50mm for a neat and tidy lawn. Cutting width 180mm.

Last update on 2020-09-23 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API


Helpful WORX WR130E S300 Videos

WORX have recently produced two very helpful videos. The first helps with the planning, measuring your lawn and choosing the correct WORX robotic mower, and the second is an installation guide.

I hope these videos will reassure you how straight forward it is to choose the correct WORX robotic mower, and how easy the installation is.

Before you buy

Installation guide


Mowing Features

  • Cut to Edge

This model does not have a cut to the edge feature but if your lawn is fairly even and you set your boundary wire up well it will cut close to the edge for a good finish.

  • Cutting Pattern

Although the WR130E S300 cuts in a fairly random pattern initially, it is intelligent and constantly learning. It is also designed to be used on a regular basis so will soon cat your grass quickly and effectively. The AIA technology makes it efficient and nimble. Again, the better your initial setup the more effective the robot mower will be.

  • Narrow Passage

One of the many advantages of the WORX S300 is that it has artificial intelligence in the form of its AIA technology. This allows it to skillfully navigate your garden and make it especially adept at narrow passages. This is often a challenge for robotic lawn mowers but the WORX can handle them with ease. As they navigate your garden they are constantly learning so over time they will only become better and more proficient.

  • Multi-Zone

This same technology allows for precision control over different areas of the lawn. Most gardens consist of more than one lawn area and the WORX S300 can easily cope with them.


Height Adjustment

The height adjustment could not be easier and the three easy steps take just a few seconds. They will allow you to adjust from 30mm to 50mm for a perfect cut. You will want to adjust the height according to cutting frequency, season and weather conditions.


Mulching

Because of the blade design and the potential to cut frequently with no effort and hassle, the WR130E S300 is perfect for mulching. It will leave fine clippings as it cuts. These will break down and return nutrients to the soil while also making it more water-wise. Not only is this an Eco-friendly solution but it will save you money and time of artificial fertilisers, while keeping the lawn looking green and healthy.

To learn more about the benefits of mulching, see my article The Benefits of Mulching Grass.


Rain Sensor

It is not ideal to cut the grass when it is raining so the intelligent rain sensor will stop the mower from operating while it rains, and resume once the rain has stopped. If you find it a bit too sensitive to a few drops of rain you can adjust the sensitivity using the app. If you need to mow urgently and it is raining, this sensor can be turned off so that you can continue mowing even during rain. The machine is weatherproof.


WORX WR130E S300 AppWORX App & Installation

The WORX WR130E S300 Landroid can be controlled either directly on the machine or via the convenience of the app from your smartphone or tablet. It is available for iOS or Android. Your mobile device will communicate with the WORX over WiFi and this will also ensure the robotic lawn mower is always updated via automatic over the air firmware updates.

You can download the apps here:

You can even download the app to get a feel for the operation before making a purchase. The app is free. It gives you all the relevant information that you need and complete remote control of the device.

Check Price Now


Safety Features

As you would expect from a quality lawn mower, the WORX S300 has a number of safety features. It will only work within its own defined network. Safety features include:

  • Lift & Tilt Sensors

If the mower is tilted or lifted the blades will automatically stop spinning to ensure safety.

  • Quick Stop Blade

There is a stop button to quickly stop the blade spinning if you have any problems.

  • PIN & Alarm System

The PIN code will prevent unauthorised use of the mower and the alarm system will alert you if there are any security issues.


WORX Robotic Landroid Range

WR130E 300m²
WORX WR130E S300 Landroid Robotic Mower 300m
WR142E 700m²
WORX WR142E M700 Landroid Robotic Mower 700m
WORX WR147E 1000m²
WORX WR147E L1000 Landroid Robotic Mower 1000 m
WR153E 1500m²
WORX WR153E L1500 Landroid Robotic Mower 1500 m
Robotic Mower
WORX WR130E S300 Landroid Robotic Mower 300m
WORX WR142E M700 Landroid Robotic Mower 700m
WORX WR147E L1000 Landroid Robotic Mower 1000 m
WORX WR153E L1500 Landroid Robotic Mower 1500 m
Recommend Lawn Size
300m2
700m2
1000m²
1500m2
Battery Capacity
2.0 Ah
4.0 Ah
2.0 Ah
4.0 Ah
Max. incline
35%
35%
35%
35%
Cutting Width
18cm
18cm
20cm
22cm
Weight
8,0 kg
9,2 kg
10kg
9,5 kg
Cutting Heights
20mm to 50mm
30mm to 60mm
30mm to 60mm
30mm to 60mm
Boundary Wire Lenght
100m
150m
180m
200m
Cutting Blade
3-pivoting razor blades
3-pivoting razor blades
3-pivoting razor blades
3-pivoting razor blades
Floating Deck
Cut to Edge
Multi-zone Management
Wi-Fi Connection
Rain Sensor
Customer Rating
-
-
-
Price
£549.99
£650.00
£1,099.00
£1,249.99
Prime Benefits
-
-
WR130E 300m²
WORX WR130E S300 Landroid Robotic Mower 300m
Robotic Mower
WORX WR130E S300 Landroid Robotic Mower 300m
Recommend Lawn Size
300m2
Battery Capacity
2.0 Ah
Max. incline
35%
Cutting Width
18cm
Weight
8,0 kg
Cutting Heights
20mm to 50mm
Boundary Wire Lenght
100m
Cutting Blade
3-pivoting razor blades
Floating Deck
Cut to Edge
Multi-zone Management
Wi-Fi Connection
Rain Sensor
Customer Rating
Price
£549.99
Prime Benefits
-
More information
Full Review
WR142E 700m²
WORX WR142E M700 Landroid Robotic Mower 700m
Robotic Mower
WORX WR142E M700 Landroid Robotic Mower 700m
Recommend Lawn Size
700m2
Battery Capacity
4.0 Ah
Max. incline
35%
Cutting Width
18cm
Weight
9,2 kg
Cutting Heights
30mm to 60mm
Boundary Wire Lenght
150m
Cutting Blade
3-pivoting razor blades
Floating Deck
Cut to Edge
Multi-zone Management
Wi-Fi Connection
Rain Sensor
Customer Rating
-
Price
£650.00
Prime Benefits
More information
Full Review
WORX WR147E 1000m²
WORX WR147E L1000 Landroid Robotic Mower 1000 m
Robotic Mower
WORX WR147E L1000 Landroid Robotic Mower 1000 m
Recommend Lawn Size
1000m²
Battery Capacity
2.0 Ah
Max. incline
35%
Cutting Width
20cm
Weight
10kg
Cutting Heights
30mm to 60mm
Boundary Wire Lenght
180m
Cutting Blade
3-pivoting razor blades
Floating Deck
Cut to Edge
Multi-zone Management
Wi-Fi Connection
Rain Sensor
Customer Rating
-
Price
£1,099.00
Prime Benefits
-
More information
Full Review
WR153E 1500m²
WORX WR153E L1500 Landroid Robotic Mower 1500 m
Robotic Mower
WORX WR153E L1500 Landroid Robotic Mower 1500 m
Recommend Lawn Size
1500m2
Battery Capacity
4.0 Ah
Max. incline
35%
Cutting Width
22cm
Weight
9,5 kg
Cutting Heights
30mm to 60mm
Boundary Wire Lenght
200m
Cutting Blade
3-pivoting razor blades
Floating Deck
Cut to Edge
Multi-zone Management
Wi-Fi Connection
Rain Sensor
Customer Rating
-
Price
£1,249.99
Prime Benefits
More information
Full Review

Last update on 2020-09-23 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API


WORX WR130E S300 Accessories ListAccessories

One clever design benefit, that helps to keep the Landroid prices down, is that you don’t pay for unnecessary features. It comes with everything you need for quality mowing but if you want to get more out of your investment, there are some amazing accessories that can be purchased separately.

WORX offers a number of optional extras that for a small additional investment will make your WORX WR130E S300 even more user-friendly, convenient and effective. This is what WORX have for now and they intend to launch even more in the near future:

  • Voice Control

As much convenience as the automatic and app-controlled device gives you, you can even add voice control for even more freedom and ease of use. Perhaps you do not want to look at your phone or you battle to do this. You might just not enjoy the technology. If so, voice control is a great solution. You can operate the majority of the functions effortlessly with just your voice using this option.

It is easy to install, setup and operate.

  • Find My Landroid

Security is always an issue with quality equipment such as the Landroid WR130E S300. Although it already features a standard PIN code as well as an alarm, you can get additional protection and peace of mind with the “Find My Landroid” feature. This feature uses the cellular function of the device to allow you to track it over GPS even without Wi-Fi and RadioLink.

  • Anti-Collision System

Irrespective of your initial setup, some parts of the lawn may be a challenge. Added to this, things change in the garden all the time. The ACS or Anti-Collision System will make your robotic lawn mower more agile and help avoid bumping into trees, chairs, branches and other obstacles in the cutting area. It does this by means of quality ultrasonic sensors. This feature allows it to steer easily through the lawn and avoid all obstacles.

  • Off Limits

This add-on feature allows you to create ring-fenced areas. While you can do this with the original boundary wire it can be a bit tricky. This method is a lot more effective and easier to apply. It makes use of a sensor that attaches to the Landroid as well as an additional strip that creates a digital fence on the area you wish the mower to avoid. It can operate independently of the boundary wire and does not need power. It is operated by a magnetic force which the sensor will pick up.

  • RadioLink

While the Wi-Fi connection is great and works well, nothing can match the power of the RadioLink for optimum communication and Artificial Intelligence capabilities.  The RadioLink uses low power communication that can travel up to 1km from the router even if there are obstacles in the way.

Last update on 2020-09-22 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API


WORX WR130E S300 Owners Manual and Installation Guide Download

Click Here for the WORX WR130E S300 Owners Manual

Click Here for the WORX WR130E S300 Installation Guide


WORX WR130E S300 Warranty

The standard warranty on the Landroid is 2 years with an additional year if you register your purchase with WORX and join their Owner’s Club.


Worx S300 in the boxWhat’s included in the box?

In the kit, you will receive the following:

  • WR130E S300 Robotic Mower
  • 1 x 20V Lithium battery pack
  • 1 x Stealth charger and power supply
  • 9 blades and screws
  • 100m roll of boundary wire
  • 2 x Wire repair connectors
  • 130 wire pegs
  • 1 hex key
  • 2 x measurement gauge
  • 8 screws to secure the charging station
  • Basic instructions

Downsides

While the WORX WR130E S300 is a great robotic lawn mower there are a few downsides. It is important to be aware of these when considering your options:

Many people found the start guide to be inadequate. Fortunately, this is easy to overcome as there are many great videos or guides available online. This only has to be done once and with a small garden, should not take too much effort.

Edges are not always perfect as the WORX WR130E S300 does not have the Cut to Edge feature. This is common to most robotic lawn mowers but unless you get your initial setup or adjustments perfect your edges will not be perfect.

If having a robotic mower that does cut to edge is a must, then you may want to consider the larger WORX WR142E M700, click here to see the full review of the WORX WR142E M700.

Check Price Now


Pros

Highly customisable for your specific requirements (5 unique options)
Great features including artificial intelligence for greater accuracy and efficiency
Latest technology with market leading features
Great value for money
Easy to install and set up
Low profile and compact charging station
Great customer feedback

Cons

No ability to cut right to the edge with this model


Conclusion

If you are tired of slogging away in the garden or paying others to do it, this robotic mower is a great option for lawns up to 300m². You will have to do some setting up initially with the WORX WR130E S300 and it might not reach all edges perfectly but you will not be disappointed. It will keep your grass neat, happy and healthy with minimal effort on your side.

This robotic mower has outstanding features and is highly customisable for your specific needs. The WORX WR130E S300 really is great value for money, with the amount of technology you get out of the box and the hours it will save you mowing your lawn, this is a great investment.

Consider the full range of WORX robotic mowers (see my comparison table above) to ensure the size and features are suitable for you. Then I am sure you will not be disappointed as this range is my number 1 pick for you in terms of value, features and performance.


WORX WR130E S300 Charging StationShould You Buy The WORX WR130E S300?

The WORX WR130E S300 compares very favourably with other models of robotic lawn mowers in this category and provided you are aware of the potential minor downsides, this is a great investment. It is reliable, effective and easy to use. It has great standard features as well as even more functionality should you wish to purchase additional accessories. In the long run, it will save you money and once set up, it will immediately save you time and effort.

This high recommendation is not only based on the exceptional features, performance, exceptional value for money but also the ability to build on with additional features that are configurable to your future needs. This intelligent range of WORX robotic mowers are therefore my number 1 recommendation for you and your lawn. 


Where should I purchase this model? 

Hopefully this review has made it clear to whether or not you should purchase this WORX WR130E S300 model. If you consider everything I’ve talked about then I’m sure you will make the right decision.

Amazon have the best prices that are difficult to match and probably the most reliable delivery system on the web. Considering how valuable this piece of equipment is you want the most for your money and the best service possible making Amazon the best place to go.

Also, if you have any questions about this model or choosing your own mower then please leave a comment below and I’ll help you out the best I can.

Check Price Now

 

WORX WR130E S300 Landroid Robotic Mower 300m
91 Reviews
WORX WR130E S300 Landroid Robotic Mower 300m
  • You only pay for the size you need. This model is perfect for smaller gardens up to 300m2.
  • Everything you need comes in the box, the mower has all the cables, wire and pegs you need for your size of lawn.
  • The mower is plug and play. You don’t need to change settings if you don’t want to, it is pre-programmed with a schedule that suits your size of lawn but can be easily adjusted on the machine or via the App on your phone, from anywhere.
  • Agile and smarter due to intelligent AIA technology, the turning pattern means it cuts your lawn 30% faster than other robot mowers, and doesn’t wear the edges of your lawn like others do with their continual reversing.
  • All the cutting height adjustments you need for all grass conditions from 20-50mm for a neat and tidy lawn. Cutting width 180mm.

Last update on 2020-09-23 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

 

WORX Landroid Range


Other WORX Robotic Mowers

Not sure if this WORX robotic mower is for you?

Here are reviews for the the other new WORX Landroid robotic lawn mowers.

WORX WR142E M700 Review

WORX WR153E L1500 Review


FAQs

Can you customise the WORX WR130E S300?

Yes, there are five unique add-on modules sold separately so you can build your own perfect Landroid.

What is the cutting width of the WORX WR130E S300?

18 centimetres.

What is the cutting height of the WORX WR130E S300?

3 positions from 20mm to 50mm.

Does the WORX WR130E S300 cut right to the edge?

No, only its larger brothers the M700 and L1500 do.

What happens to the grass clippings?

The grass clippings are not collected, but are instead mulched into the lawn adding nutrients and moisture.

How long is the warranty on the WORX WR130E S300?

2+1 years limited warranty. Don't forget to register your new Landroid within 30 days of purchase to receive the extra year and access to the Landroid Owners Club.

18 thoughts on “WORX WR130E S300 Review – Landroid Robotic Mower

  1. I have a Worx Landroid M700 and it’s brilliant. Our garden is about 200m2 and it’s more than adequate for this size, but I chose this model for its “ cut to edge” ability. Generally it can cut to within 2” of any border, which is better than most other brands and models. Also, the side docking station is good, we’ve just put it in a discreet spot against the fence, hidden by a bush. Setting it up was easy, it takes a bit of trial and error to get the perimeter wire in the right place around awkward borders and corners, but that’s not really a problem. As long as the wire is pegged down well and pulled tight there’s absolutely no need to go the the effort of digging it in. Within a few weeks it just disappears into the thatch at the base of the grass and is invisible. After a season of the daily “little and often” cutting approach our lawn is lush, thick and healthy. I can honestly say it’s one of the best things I’ve ever purchased!

    1. Hi Chris, many thanks for sharing your experience of the WORX M700 with our readers. I agree, I am also very impressed with this robotic mower.

      Thanks again
      Mark

  2. Hi Mark,

    I see that the installation seems to be fairly straight forwards anyway – but are you aware of any companies which will do the install for me? The ones I can find seem to be affiliated to husqvana only and are not keen to install other brands.

    What’re your thoughts on burying the wires as opposed to pegging them down?

    Thanks

    R

  3. Hi Mark,

    Thanks for your great review. I like the sound of the functionality that the WORX WR130E offers. It’s at the top of my list as I look to take the leap into buying my first Robotic Mower.

    One question I have though is how robust this will be when handling obstacles. I have a young family and we currently have things on the lawn, in-particular a couple of football goals. Ideally I wouldn’t want to be constantly moving these off the lawn, although that is a possibility if there are no other options.

    I’d be interested to know if this mower is the one for me with this scenario, or whether I’d need to buy the additional Anti Collision add-on. What would happen without this add-on, what would be improved with the add-on, or is there a different mower more equip for this scenario?

    Thanks
    Jon

    1. Hi Jon

      Thanks for your message.

      I do really like my WORX robotic mower, it is well suited to a lawn with obstacles.

      Without the Anti Collision add-on the mower would behave like the majority of robotic mowers and simply bump into the obstacle and then change direction.

      With the Anti Collision feature the mower will simply steer around the obstacle such as goal posts etc. Both will do the same job, but naturally the Anti Collision feature will prevent any contact so preventing any damage to the obstacle (damage to trees, plants and outdoor furniture) and help preserve the life of the mower.

      Hope this helps.
      Mark

  4. Thanks for the response Mark. Looking at some reviews online of the product it would appear that, unlike the Flymo, it does not need a separate guide wire installing to help it find its way home but instead seems to follow the boundary wire back to base and always goes in the same direction. This is probably a good thing for most people as means less pegging and wire and potential for snagging. But if this is the case then it might explain why a second lawn is not possible… the device will try and follow the line to the second lawn on its path home and therefore never make it back?

  5. Hi Mark

    Thanks for some excellent reviews. I am on the cusp of buying a robot lawnmower and based on your reviews this will be either the Flymo Easilife 200 or this Workx model. I will happily click to buy on amazon from your website. The worx is £150 cheaper and would seem to be just as good. One feature of the Flymo though which is useful for me is the ability to set up a secondary area to cut. In my case this would be a small front garden that I could extend the boundary wire to. Do you know if the worx allows this? As far as I can tell it doesn’t support this feature, in which case the flymo is the right device for me. On a related point, when laying out boundary wire to this secondary area is it important that the boundary wires do not touch or cross each other or doesnt it matter? When I lay out the wire to get from back to front garden along a path the wires may be on top of each other and cross.

    Thank you for any advice on these points

    1. Hi Tony

      Great question.

      I believe the new range of WORX robotic mowers will need a passage for the mower so yes the Flymo would be best in this situation.

      The two areas will still need to be joined as a single loop around both areas. If you take a look at page 18 of the manual (link below) you can see how this needs to be setup.

      https://supportsites.husqvarnagroup.com/~/ddocview/FLYO/FLYO2019_EUen/FLYO2019_EUen__1141896-26.pdf

      The wires will need to run together in parallel (but not cross) along a narrow passage and the mower lifted between the two.

      I have contacted WORX to double check that the WORX robotic mower can’t do the same as the Flymo, as I believe the old WORX Landroid mowers could.

      I will post here as soon as I hear back from WORX.

      Thanks
      Mark

  6. Further to my question about stepping stones, I take your point and have raised the stones so they are more or less level with the grass. it turned out to be a lot easier than I thought. I’ll just have to wait until I get the machine and see what happens. It was getting difficult fro the ordinary nower anyway.

  7. A PS to my above.

    part of my lawn ends in a sort of acute triangle, narrowing down to a point. How would the machine deal with that

  8. I am very interested in this mower. I have a few questions though. My lawn is about 150 – 175 sq m but irregular in shape.

    1. It is divided in two parts by a row of stepping stones. each about 500 mm x 400 mm. about 220 mm to 300 mm apart. when put in they were flush with the lawn level, but are now 25 mm to 50 mm below the lawn surface. Would this be a problem for the mower?

    2. All the edges in your video seem to have a path next to the lawn, what happens with a border which is below the level of the lawn. How close can it cut?

    1. Hi William

      Thanks for you comment.

      To be honest I’m not too sure if you would get away with this. It may well be okay if the S300 is set to a higher height setting but the single wheel may be a problem if it goes “over the edge”.

      You may want to ask Worx about this, number below.

      0345 202 9679*

      *Calls to this number will cost 10p per minute from BT landlines; calls from other networks and mobiles may vary

      Please let me know how you get on.

      Many thanks
      Mark

  9. Hi Mike

    Thanks for your comment.

    If the lawn is flush with the edge then you would set the perimeter at just 10cm and therefore the S300 will cut to that edge. I know you said your boarder is slightly raised so you may want to try this to see how it goes as the mower will need to overlap the cobbled edge. I also have a brick edge but it is flush or slightly lower than the lawn so I have no issues.

    I can’t see why you couldn’t have the base on the path as long as you follow the recommendation on the distances and find a way to secure the base to the path. Again I would run a test before you start drilling any fixing holes etc.

    If you really need to know before purchasing, I could move my S300 charge station onto the path to see how/if it works. I could just hold the charging station in place temporarily while testing, let me know??

    Please let us know how you get on.

    Thanks
    Mark

  10. Hi, every review I have read has mentioned that the S300 does not cut up to the edge. My lawn is completely enclosed by a continuous slightly raised cobbled border. I would like to see what uncut grass remains if the boundary cable is installed correctly. Also the installation instructions always show the charging station installed actually on the lawn. Due to the nature of my lawn I would prefer the charging station to be out of sight on a path. Is this possible?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *